Nigel Mooney, The Bohemian Mooney (LR018)
(27/5/13, album, download, CD)
Nigel Mooney (vocals/guitar), Georgie Fame (vocals), Louis Stewart (guitar),
Linley Hamilton (trumpet), Michael Buckley (saxophones/flutes)
Richie Buckley (alto saxophone), Eamonn Murray (harmonica)
Johnny Taylor (piano), Dan Bodwell (bass), Dominic Mullan (drums)
"Great tunes, great sound...Mooney may have another hit on his hands."
‒ The Irish Times
"...nothing less than stunning..." ‒ Hot Press
Nigel Mooney has long been regarded as Ireland's leading blues singer/guitarist. His sensitive tenor voice, soulful jazz guitar stylings and preference for an acoustic-sounding, jazz approach to the blues have made him a unique and popular artist. Mooney’s Gripewater Blues Band was a significant group on the Irish blues scene of the eighties, but the Mooney of today was first documented on debut first album All My Love's In Vain (Rubyworks). It became the island's biggest selling jazz album of 2005, with major airplay from champions such as RTE's Ryan Tubridy, and chart placements for the single 'Beautiful Day'.
The Bohemian Mooney, his much-awaited second album, sees him in both small group and big band settings, with VIP appearances by international music icons Georgie Fame and Louis Stewart. Debuting at number 1 on iTunes following an RTE album of the week placement on Radio 1 and a TV appearance on RTE's The Late Late Show, it features his working group of Johnny Taylor (piano), Dan Bodwell (bass) and Dominic Mullan (drums), with Richie Buckley (Van Morrison), Linley Hamilton (Paul Brady) and Michael Buckley (Glen Hansard) among the horn section.
1. I Ain't Ready
2. Ain't That Love
3. Down For Double
4. Unlucky In Love
5. Hard Times
6. April In Paris
7. The Bohemian Mooney
8. Hellbound On My Trail
9. C'est Si Bon
8. How Blue Can You Get?
9. Bohemian Moondance
10. Farewell To Bohemia
Click here to preview The Bohemian Mooney on YouTube.
Artist website:
Price: £10.99 (inc. international shipping)